2014 New Year’s Resolutions: My Crossfit Journey

January 2014 I started Crossfitting at Crossfit NYC: The Black Box. I don’t post or talk about Crossfit that much… I think… At least, I don’t talk about it nearly half as much as I want to talk about it ;P It’s been a full year of Crossfit now and I do want to share a few words on the journey as people are setting their New Year’s resolutions which often include fitness resolutions.

I didn’t really have a specific resolution last year. It wasn’t like, “This year, I’m going to get in shape” or “I want to lose x amount of weight.” But I was unhappy with myself. I was always at the very least somewhat active. But at this point last year, I was out of shape and not very healthy. I had actually tried crossfit in 2012. I did it for 3 months but had stopped for a full year. (I loved it in 2012 but became unemployed and broke)

I began Crossfit because I do actually love weightlifting. I started strength training in high school. I had an amazing coach. I think a lot of girls are taught to believe they only need to be lean and toned. He always use to tell me, “Women can lift strong.” He never let me lift light just because I was the only girl in the strength training class. I missed his.. I guess you could call it.. philosophy of fitness. Our weight room was the “bare necessities” and only consisted of power racks and barbells. Crossfit shared a similar foundation so that’s what initially attracted me to the sport.

To be honest though, and how I first heard of Crossfit was through a picture of Camille Leblanc-Bazinet on Pinterest. She was a woman who was beautiful yet made weightlifting look so badass. I wanted to be her. I became obsessed with wanting to be like her.

Back to January 2014. Out of shape and unhappy with myself, a co-worker of mine told me about a Crossfit box right by our cafe. I decided to join.

Unlike regular gyms, there are no mirrors in Crossfit. That has added such an interesting factor in this past year of fitness progress especially if you went into it with aesthetic goals. But that’s the beauty of Crossfit culture. You might join it for the aesthetic gains at first, but it soon becomes so much more than that. I don’t think I can say I’ve struggled with body image but I’ve never loved my body. I genuinely love the way I look now. Not because I think I look hot or because I have the “ideal body”. I don’t. My thighs and calves are huge, I have a crazy shoulder vein, forearm veins, more forearm veins (seriously though… my forearms…), my traps explode when I pull my shoulders back… And I love it all.

I look healthy. I look like I’ve worked hard. But the greatest lesson Crossfit has taught me about loving my body is not aesthetic reasons.. I love my body for what it can achieve.

I can pinpoint exactly when my perspective of my body changed. It was when I did my first toes to bar. 2 weeks before that day we had another workout involving toes to bar and I could only bring my knees to my chest. On this particular day, I decided to just go for one attempt to see how close I was getting to the real thing and I came up so hard I stubbed my toes on the bar. That was the day I started loving my body for what it could do, not just for the way it looked.

My message here is not that you have to change yourself in order to love yourself. But as 2015 kicks off, I think a lot of us fall into the trap of making fitness resolutions with the end goal, whether we’re conscious of it or not, being to look like someone else or to get that specific body type we’ve been told is “hot” by the wider culture.

I fell for it too. In fact, if you look at my Fitness Board on Pinterest, you can actually see the perspective transformation. (You can also see the exact moment in time when I started obsessing over Camille) In the beginning, I would go onto Pinterest to find pictures of hot girls with amazing physique to motivate myself to get back into shape. But it’s a lie. You can’t look like someone else. Nor can you pick and choose body parts from 100 different women and aim to have each part of your body look like this and that. You can’t look like her nor is your body a jig saw puzzle of multiple women’s body parts.

What IS possible and what I’m trying to say today is: Be the best version of yourself. If you have a fitness resolution this year, take a good look at yourself (figuratively). Ask yourself if you’re doing this because you’re trying to look like someone else. Because if you really want to make long-lasting changes, you have to let that go. Once you see that you’re not getting any closer to looking like her, you’ll lose momentum and motivation. Because that’s not how this works and you will never be happy with yourself. After a year of consistent hard work, I still don’t look like those girls I used to pin and I don’t look like Camille. And that’s completely okay. I probably love myself more because this is a body I earned. This is a vomit inducing cliche but there really is a beauty in the journey itself. Fall in love with the process of being the best version of you.

A year ago, I had poor posture. My boss used to call me T-rex because of my slouch and because my velociraptor resting arm position. Seriously, I used to work at Starbucks and we would talk about my #raptorhands. I had chronic back pain because I was standing for hours over the stove or the counter. My knees would hurt because of problems with my Illiotibial band.

Nowadays, back pain isn’t a thing I deal with anymore and Crossfit recovery and mobility education has taught me how to manage my ITBS problem. New friends tell me I have amazing posture. I’ve literally never been told I had good posture. I’ve slouched all my life and of course, it’s my natural tendency but I walk tall now. I stand up straight with shoulders pulled back because I have this new sense of confidence. All of this I gained in just a year.

Add to the list of things Crossfit has done for me in this past year alone: I have abs! That was never a thing before 2014! I can do strict pull-ups! I can lift heavier weights than some of the men in my class! I am so close to being able to do a free standing hand stand!

Fitness Resolutions of 2014: #winning. Crossfit may or may not be right for you. But for those of you who are about to start your own journeys, I hope this helps put a little more perspective on your own goals and that come year 2016, you’re well on your way to becoming the best version of you and that you’ve learned to love and appreciate every last detail of you.

You may stop reading here. This next part is for people who may be considering Joining Crossfit.

Crossfit is a topic that has stirred up a bit of controversy. I’m only speaking from my own experience. Like I said, I’ve been a member at one box for 3 months and my current one for a year. I’ve also dropped in at a few different boxes around NY.

I am a super lazy person. You might not think so because you just read a post about how I did Crossfit consistently for an entire year. Yes, I did go 4-5 times a week but not because I have great work ethic or time management or whatever. I Crossfit because I’m really unmotivated. Remember, I did nothing before Crossfit and was completely sedentary for an entire year. Crossfit works for me because someone else comes up with the workout for me. If left up to myself, I’d never make it to the gym and get a decent work out.

How Crossfit works: it’s an hour long group class. There is a work out of the day and there’s a coach for each class. What you do in that class varies. That’s our thing. Constantly varied functional fitness. It’s basically training for life… like… if you happened to get stranded in the woods.. and had to do all sorts of physical things to survive… the idea is that your Crossfit training would have helped you to be physically ready. Your friends want to take a spontaneous hiking trip? You’re ready. You have to handle a heavy delivery at work? You’re ready. You’re a mom and you have to hold your baby while holding all your groceries??? THIS IS THE MOMENT YOU’VE BEEN TRAINING FOR!!! Do you get the gist of it? Squats, deadlifts, etc. are big, multi-muscle group lifts that are relevant to movements you have to perform in everyday life. Crossfit = Life training.

Why I think it’s worth it: Like I said… It’s an hour long. Crossfit is really expensive for a gym membership. But think about it this way. Are you self-disciplined enough to go to the gym and get a really good work out in an hour? If you are… you’re probably not even reading this. I know I’m not. So I could pay for a gym membership else where but I’d probably end up being the sort of “member” that keeps Planet Fitness in business… Ya know.. the ones who pay and never show up. They keep the doors open without ever walking in.

Perhaps another factor that keeps you from your fitness goals is that gyms can be intimidating. You don’t really know what you’re doing or don’t know enough to have a plan that keeps you going. Crossfit is SO welcoming to beginners. I can’t say it enough. It’s a safe place, especially for women, to learn how to perform exercises without the fear of some sketchy guy coming over to “teach her proper form.” People from all different levels of fitness work out together in an encouraging environment. I work out with beginners all the time. Sharing the journey with a newbie never gets old.

Finally, Crossfit community is just the best. People really do cheer you on and support you. People you don’t even know. Every box I’ve visited has been the same. And we’re a people who are achievement-focused.. Like I said.. no mirrors. We are a people who celebrate what are bodies can do and achieve. The question is… aren’t you curious to see what yours can?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Vicky Wong

Facebook Stalker, ESFP, InterVarsity groupie, and Christ-follower. I try to stay real. Like J-Lo.

Leave a Reply

